Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Payroll & Benefits

Overview

Payroll & Benefits
Important 2022 Payroll News and Information

What is the Provider One-Time Care Economy Payment?

In recognition of the care service provided during the COVID-19 pandemic, the one-time Care Economy Payment of $500 dollars, approved by the State of California, will be sent to eligible IHSS and WPCS providers.

  • To receive payment, you must be currently working as an IHSS or WPCS provider and provided services for an IHSS or WPCS recipient for a minimum of two months between March 1, 2020 and March 31, 2021.
  • Only one $500 payment will be sent to an eligible provider regardless of the number of recipients they worked for.
  • Payment will be sent as Electronic Funds transfer (EFT) to providers who currently use Direct Deposit.   All other providers will receive a paper check.
  • The payment is reportable as income and is subject to income and payroll taxes and deductions based upon the provider’s IHSS/WPCS tax status on file.  This means the check you receive will not be for $500 as your taxes will be deducted from it. 
  • If you feel you qualify for the payment and haven’t received it, please contact your payroll specialist or call (650) 389-9666.

​Where is my W-2?

  • W-2s will be mailed starting January 28th.  Providers should expect to receive them in the mail through February 28th.
  • If you lost your copy or didn’t receive one, the Public Authority can request for a duplicate W-2 to be re-issued to providers starting March 1st. It can take approximately 30 business days to receive your duplicate W-2 in the mail.
  • Providers will be able to log into their portal and access a copy of their W-2 for 2021 starting March 5th.
Post
watch keeping time

Electronic Timesheets Required

Paper timesheets will no longer be available for IHSS providers after September 1, 2021. Registration for electronic timesheets is a condition of employment, and required by the State of California for providers who wish to participate in the IHSS Program. 

Instructions how to register for Electronic Timesheets for Provider/Recipient

To register or log in to the Electronic Services Portal (ESP), click here.

For information on the Electronic Services Portal (ESP) or the Telephone Timesheet System (TTS), click here or contact the IHSS Service Desk at (866) 376-7066 during normal business hours of 8am-5pm Monday through Friday, excluding major holidays.

Provider/Recipient Registration Instructions – English, click here.

Provider/Recipient Registration Instructions – Spanish, click here.

Provider/Recipient Registration Instructions – Chinese, click here.

Provider/Recipient Registration Instructions – Armenian, click here.

What if I need help with the Electronic Timesheet website?

You can visit the Electronic Timesheet Resource page. You can also call the IHSS Provider Help Desk: (866) 376-7066.       

Post

Provider Benefits

Benefits

The Public Authority of San Mateo County offers IHSS providers:

  • As of January 1, 2022, IHSS providers are paid $17.70 per hour and $26.55 per hour for overtime (overtime limits apply). 
  • Voluntary health and dental/vision insurance (fixed number of enrollment spots available).
  • Paid sick leave.
  • Public transportation benefit (fixed number of reimbursements every month).
  • Voluntary contribution retirement savings program for California IHSS Providers including live-in providers (CalSavers Retirement Savings Program).
  • Educational workshops and reimbursement for preapproved classes.

For additional details please read the following.

Post

Frequently Asked Questions

When should I submit my timesheets?

Timesheets should be submitted immediately following the end of the pay periods on the 15th of the month and the last day of the month.

When will I receive my first set of timesheets?

You will have access to your timesheets when you have completed the enrollment process and your client’s case has been opened.

You can call our Payroll/Enrollment Assistance Line to find out the status of your enrollment.

How do I sign up for Direct Deposit?

Use this State Direct Deposit form SOC 829 and mail it to the address at the bottom of the back page. You can visit this page for more information. You can also sign up in the Electronic Services Portal