Skip to main content Skip to site navigation


General information

Mental Health Consumer Hall of Fame
presented in February

MHSARC chooses individuals each year who have found their way to a path of wellness and recovery from mental illness and have been active in the consumer movement to better the lives of other consumers in the county. Read the biographies of each Hall of Fame member.

The 2018 Consumer Hall of Fame awards will be presented on February 7 at the MHSARC meeting. Nominations are due January 12. 

Tony Hoffman Community Mental Health Service Award
presented in May

The Tony Hoffman Community Mental Health Services Award recognizes individuals, professionals, businesses, and the media who have made an extraordinary difference in the lives of people with mental illness and the communities in which they live. Recognition is given for public education or advocacy to promote mental health awareness and needs or to address stigma; public education and services to provide housing and employment for persons with mental illness; creation of new and innovative programs or community support activities; recognition of fundraising for mental health activities or long-term financial support to mental health programs; or working for new mental health legislation. We also honor mental health consumers who, in their journey of recovery, are able to give back to their peers or the community. Awards are presented each May during Mental Health Month. View a list of Tony Hoffman Award recipients.

David Lewis Award
presented in September

This award is presented to an individual whose has made a significant contribution to substance abuse recovery through successful programs, community education, stigma reduction or client advocacy. David Lewis was a long-term employee of the San Mateo County Health System. He was the co-founder and president of the Board of Directors of “Free at Last”, a substance abuse treatment and prevention agency in East Palo Alto that seeks to break the cycle of addiction, rebuild families, foster education and economic self sufficiency, and contribute to the health and safety of the community. David was shot and died on June 9, 2010. Learn more about the David Lewis Award recipients. Now accepting nominations for 2016. are due August 11, 2017.

Honoring Family Award
now combined with the Tony Hoffman award above, starting in 2011

The Honoring Family Award recognizes San Mateo County family members or families, including individuals or groups in a supportive family role, for their contributions to improving the lives of families who are impacted by mental illness or behavioral health challenges, or inspiring others by their support of a loved one(s) who is on a path to wellness and recovery. Learn more about the recipients of the Honoring Family Award.

Please mail or fax your nomination forms to:
San Mateo County Mental Health Board
Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
Attn: Chantae Rochester
2000 Alameda de las Pulgas, Suite 235
San Mateo, CA 94403
Ph: (650) 573-2544
Fax: (650) 573-2841