Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

SMMC: Leaders



San Mateo Medical Center is led by a talented team of strategic thinkers who have dedicated their careers to serving the community.

General information

Executive Management Team

Chief Executive Officer
Chester Kunnappilly, MD 

Chief Operations Officer 
Robert Blake, RN, MBA

Chief Financial Officer 
David McGrew

Chief Medical Officer
Susan Fernyak, MD 

Chief Nursing Officer
Joan Gygax Spicer, RN, PhD

Chief Quality & Experience Officer
Alpa Sanghavi, MD

Deputy Director of Psychiatric Services
Carlton Mills, MSN

Deputy Director of Ambulatory Services
Brighton Ncube

Human Resource Manager
Angela Gonzales

General information

Medical Executive Committee


Chief of Staff
Julie Hersk, MD

Vice Chief of Staff
Frank Trinh, MD

Gordon Mak, MD

Immediate Past Chief of Staff
Bryan Gescuk, MD

Department Chairs

Emergency Medicine
Chair: Serena Lee, MD 
Vice Chair: Vacant

Chair: Suja Georgie, MD
Vice Chair: Kyaw Myint, MD

Primary Care
Chair: Sumita Kalra, DO 
Vice Chair: Allen Tong, MD

Chair: Katalin Szabo, MD
Vice Chair: Vacant

Chair: Scott Lock, MD
Vice Chair: Kenton Fong, MD

Members at Large

Apama Bhagavat, MD
Steve Hassid, MD
Vivian Levy, MD
Chris Threatt, MD
Diana Wertz, MD
Alex Ding, MD

Affiliate Staff

Cama Lock, PA
Sophie O’Shaughnessy, NP


Chester Kunnappilly, MD, CEO
Susan Fernyak, MD, CMO