

Emergency Medical Services San Mateo County Health 801 Gateway Blvd., Ste. 200 South San Francisco, CA 94080 smchealth.org/ems

EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE COMMITTEE (EMCC) DRAFT MINUTES

Tuesday, March 30, 2021 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM By Zoom Conference Call

ATTENDANCE				
NAME	MEMBER POSITION/ORGANIZATION	MEMBER TYPE	ATTENDING	
Ron Myers (Chair)	Fire Service (San Mateo County Fire Chiefs)	Regular	Yes	
Rea Anne Arcangel	American Heart Association	Regular	No	
Deboarh Torres	American Red Cross	Regular	No	
Tim Bateman	Paramedic	Regular	No	
George Oldham	Emergency Physician	Regular	Yes	
Patrice Callagy	Emergency Nurse	Regular	Yes	
Demian Warner	California Highway Patrol	Regular	Yes	
David Goldschmid	San Mateo County Medical Association	Regular	Yes	
Steven Silici (Vice-chair)	Fire Service	Regular	Yes	
Paul Kunkel	San Mateo County Police Chiefs Association	Regular	No	
Annie Tsia	Consumer	Regular	Yes	
Jody Greenhalgh	Consumer	Regular	Yes	
Al David	Consumer	Regular	Yes	
Jennifer Conti	Consumer	Regular	No	
Karen Tomczak	Consumer	Regular	No	
Scott Morrow	County Health Officer	Categorical	No	
Natasha Claire-Espino	County Director of Public Safety Communications	Categorical	Yes	
Dan Belville	County Area Coordinator of the Office of Emergency Services	Categorical	Yes	
Rodney Brouhard	Executive Leader of the County-wide Exclusive Emergency Ambulance Contractor	Categorical	Yes	
Travis Kusman	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Gregory Gilbert	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Linda Allington	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Chad Henry	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Susan Smith	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Karishma Kumar	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Garrett Fahey	San Mateo County Agency	NA	Yes	
Matt Powers	North County Fire Authority	NA	Yes	
Martin Fox	Consumer	NA	Yes	

Shawni Smith	American Heart Association	NA	Yes
Mike Mendenhall	American Medical Response	NA	Yes
Kevin Miller	American Medical Response	NA	Yes

1. Welcome and Introductions

Ron Myers

5 min

- Members and attendees gave self-introductions.
- See above for those attending.

2. Verification of Quorum

Ron Myers

2.5 min

• Per the EMCC by-laws, the standard for quorum is attendance of fifty percent of current membership (10), plus one (11). Twelve (12) members were in attendance.

3. Announcements/Public Comments

ΑII

5 min

None

4. Approval of Minutes (12/1/2020)

Ron Myers

2.5 min

- Al David (Consumer) motioned to approve the December 1, 2020 meeting minutes as presented
- The motion to approve was seconded by David Goldschmidt (Medical Association)
- The motion carried with none opposed.

5. Election of Officers

ΑII

5 min

- Notice of EMCC Officer elections for the Chair, Vice-chair and Secretary position were given at the December 1, 2020 meeting and set for the Spring 2021 meeting.
- Paul Kunkel (Police Chiefs), Steve Silici and Rod Brouhard were nominated by Chief Myers (Fire Services) for Chair, Vic-chair, and Secretary respectively.
- Jody Greenhalgh (Consumer) motioned to approve the nominees as presented.
- The motion to approve was seconded by David Goldschmidt (Medical Association).
- The motion carried with none opposed.

6. **EMS Agency Updates**

Travis Kusman

10 min

ImageTrend EMS Licensing System

Chad Henry

- The San Mateo County Agency has contracted with ImageTrend for development of an electronic online licensing portal for all Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel certification and accreditation, Medical Reserve Corps (MRC) volunteer applications, EMS Continuing Education Provider applications and renewals, and authorization for EMT Training Programs.
- The system replaces the former in-person (by appointment) application process, with 24/7 access to update personal information and apply for or renew certification or accreditation.
- Other system features: streamlined application process with automated functions from submission to issuance; improved application tracking, recordkeeping and information security; integrated communications and payment functions.

Membership

Garrett Fahey

- New members
 - Rea Anne Aracagnel, representing the American Heart Association / American Stroke Association.

- Rea Anne brings to the EMCC more than 20 years of experience in healthcare administration, health technology and quality improvement.
- Deborah Torress, representing the American Red Cross.
 - Deborah brings to the EMCC over 40 years of experience in public health and social services.
- Both appointments were confirmed at the November 17, 2020 Board of Supervisors meeting for partial terms ending March 31, 2021.
- o Both are eligible for reappointment, for initial full terms.
- Members eligible for re-appointment
 - o Tim Bateman (Paramedic) first term ending March 31, 2021, and second term eligible.
 - o Jennifer Conti (Consumer) first term ending March 31, 2021, and second term eligible.
 - Those who are eligible for additional terms that would like to be considered for reappointment may send a formal written request to the EMS Agency, and we will coordinate the County Managers Office and Board of Supervisors on reappointment.
- Vacancies/recruitment
 - Members set to term-out
 - Al David (Consumer), third and final term ending March 31, 2021.
 - Ron Myers (Fire Services), third and final term ending March 31, 2021.
 - The EMS Agency will work with the Fire Chiefs Association and the County Managers Office on recruitment and appointments for the Fire Services and Consumer seats.
- 7. Roundtable Discussion All 10 min

None

Next Meeting Winter 2020 Meeting – Date TBD