Skip to main content Skip to site navigation

Body Art Practitioner Registration Information

General information

Registration Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years of age to give or receive a tattoo
  • You must have a valid Blood Borne Pathogen Exposure Training Certificate
  • You must practice within a Permitted Body Art Facility

Application

To obtain or renew a Body Art Practitioner Registration, you are required to submit a completed registration application and attach the information requested on the registration instruction sheet.

You can download the application forms from this page.

You can submit the application to us in one of three ways:

1. Scan/send to email: envhealth@smcgov.org and type “body art” in subject field

2. Fax @ (650) 627-8244 – No photos please

3. Mail to: Environmental Health Services attn: Body Art Program 2000 Alameda De Las Pulgas, Ste 100 San Mateo, CA 94403

Once the application is complete and all documents are received, you will be issued a San Mateo County Practitioner Registration Card. You are required to prominently display a current registration card on your person and or at your facility’s workstation. Practitioner registrations are valid for one year and must be renewed annually.

Application Forms

2017 Body Art Practitioner Application Guide
Body Art Practitioner Registration Application Form
Practitioner Registration Card Replacement Form
Hepatitis B Declination Form

Other Resources

Approved Blood Borne Pathogen Exposure Training Courses
Temporary Body Art Facility Practitioner Requirements
California Safe Body Art Law: Article 3 Practitioner Registration
San Mateo County Body Art Ordinance #04285
List of Approved Body Art Practitioners

Reciprocity Disclaimer

A valid Body Art Practitioner Registration issued from any other jurisdiction within California is intended to allow the Practitioner to practice within this county for 5 consecutive days no more then 15 days total in a calendar year. 

Commands